Old Friends

Recently I was asked point-blank if I would be someones friend again. That surprisingly was not an easy question. It was awkward and confusing. After everything we had been through together. All the hurt and anger that had passed between us. The horrible lies and rumors and heartbreak that we shared. All of that was over shadowed by the simple fact that this person wanted me in their life again. How is it that the people you love the most in life are always the ones to cut the deepest?

I am struggling with my heart and my head. I know on the surface it seems ridiculous to invite someone back into your life who has done more damage than good. But the good was SO good. The bad was also so bad though. We have grown up and changed and hopefully for the better. But, I can’t handle another crazy person in my life. I have had too many crazy friends who require too much effort to handle on a daily basis. I just want a normal best friend. Someone who loves me for me and doesn’t require me to “support” them in the way they feel necessary. i.e. lie to them about their general character. I am taking a leap of faith here and giving an old friend another chance. Someone I once loved very dearly. Wish my luck. I’ll take it slow, you can be sure of that.

Isn’t it funny when shit goes down you swear you will never be friends with that person again? Now here we are… I wonder what the future will hold.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. plantainperiodicals
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 07:27:16

    It’s hard but some people were only meant to be in our lives for a season and to bring them in again is not healthy…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

