9/11 Tribute

I have yet another very busy weekend ahead of me so I wanted to make sure I got this post in before time escaped me. I don’t like to dwell on the events of 9/11 that happened 10 years ago now because it hurts my heart to think about all our country lost that day. But, on the 10 year anniversary I find it important to remember all who were lost in that senseless act. The women and men who risked and lost their lives to save the innocent people trapped in that horror deserve all th remembrance we can give them. Our country has been completely transformed since that day. In some ways for the better as we stand united and give to worthy causes. In others for the worse as we constantly live in fear that we will have to face another attack. We will always remember where we were on that day 10 years ago. I was sitting getting ready for school when the news came on. My brother was at MEPS that very morning. MEPS is where you go before you are shipped off to boot camp. He had just joined the Army. Perfect timing brother! My mother and I sat in fear as it was announced that it was believed to be a terrorist attack. We were terrified that my brother would be shipped off without the training he needed. Turns out he was sent home from MEPS and told to wait for the call. They were not going to send him to boot camp while the U.S.A. was under attack. Thank God! I stayed home from school that day and mourned the lives of many. I centered my senior project around that very event. To say it has impacted my life today is an understatement.

We Shall Never Forget (9-11 Tribute)

Let the world always remember,
That fateful day in September,
And the ones who answered duties call,
Should be remembered by us all.

Who left the comfort of their home,
To face perils as yet unknown,
An embodiment of goodness on a day,
When men’s hearts had gone astray.

Sons and daughters like me and you,
Who never questioned what they had to do,
Who by example, were a source of hope,
And strength to others who could not cope.

Heroes that would not turn their back,
With determination that would not crack,
Who bound together in their ranks,
And asking not a word of thanks.

Men who bravely gave their lives,
Whose orphaned kids and widowed wives,
Can proudly look back on their dad,
Who gave this country all they had.

Actions taken without regret,
Heroisms we shall never forget,
The ones who paid the ultimate price,
Let’s never forget their sacrifice.

And never forget the ones no longer here,
Who fought for the freedoms we all hold dear,
And may their memory never wane,
Lest their sacrifices be in vain.

Alan W. Jankowski

Leave a Reply

