A Brief Synopsys of my Weekend

What a great weekend I had! I had Friday off as well as Monday because my office had a mandatory business closure day on Friday in order to cut costs without laying anyone off.

Friday Peyton and I went to the fair with my mom, dad and grandma who is in town for another 2 days. We had so much fun! Of everything we saw Peyton loved the big industrial size fans the best. We would stand in front of them with her hair blowing everywhere and she would talk into it to hear the funny noises it would make with her voice. It was so precious. I do have a photo, just not here at work, I can upload later.

Friday night I had dinner with a woman I am truly blessed to know. I think about how I almost didn’t give this friendship a chance due to no fault of her own. I was simply convinced not to like her before I ever even met her. I am so lucky I did give it a chance in the end. She is such a wonderful person. She knows who she is, her faults and her strengths and she embraces them. She is accepting of everyone and loves passionately. I can learn many things from her. We just sat and talked, ate pizza and drank wine and had a really great night. I’m going to make time for more nights like that.

Saturday I woke up really early and went to Portland with an equally amazing woman! We made the drive (which did not take as long as I expected). We went to the Farmers Market first. Then we went to the Saturday market which was huge!

The Farmers Market had everything you would expect a farmers market to have. Plenty of beautiful vegetables, fruits, bakery items, delicious breads and desserts, bright fragrant flowers. Everything looked so great and was displayed wonderfully. We walked the market twice just to make sure we took it all in. Got some beautiful pictures too.

 
 
 
 
 
 
    
Then we made the short drive to the Saturday Market on the waterfront. This is a much more eclectic market full of homemade goods. We each found little treasures we couldn’t live without, ate some “just OK food” and listened to some local music. Peyton and I got matching bracelets. They are made out of bike spokes. Pretty neat!
 

 

On the way home we stopped at the Chehalis outlet malls. Really, I had to go potty and it was a perfect excuse to stop 🙂 We went in to the Coach outlet who just happened to be having a 30% off total purchase sale. What?! Heck yes. Perfect. We each found a treasure there too 🙂

Saturday night Robert and I stayed in and relaxed (I think) and Sunday we made an impromptu stop at the Buss household for some puppy playtime and ribs… For the hubby’s at least. Sunday night I took a good friend of mine out for her birthday. She is in love with the group Hanson. You know, the one who sang mmm bop years ago? Yeah, that one. Imagine my excitement. lol

But, honestly it wasn’t that bad. I didn’t know their music so I couldn’t really sing along but the people watching was fantastic! They had an opener who I really liked. Her name is Meiko and she was very awkward and funny but I loved her music. I bought both her cd’s in fact. Go look at that link. Listen to her music. You will love her too.

Monday came along and we were invited to a Labor Day BBQ which was fantastic. Yet another friendship I didn’t really let cultivate itself due to outside influence. Peyton got to play in the kiddy pool with the other kiddos and mommy and daddy got to relax with good friends! We did some hot tubing later in the evening. I can’t tell you the last time I put on a swimsuit. I still would not consider wearing one in public but I have to tell you… I did not feel judged or insecure around my friends. They just aren’t like that. We had a great time. I even made a wonderful swan dive into the hot tub. Not on purpose of course. lol I’m just that graceful!

See, I had the best weekend! Full of family, friend and (my favorite) Husband time. I am blessed. I know this. I will just remind myself every once in a while just how blessed I am.

Looking forward to VACATION. I leave next Tuesday with hubby and baby to California! Woo Hoo!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 13:03:22

    No matter what I do I cannot make that paragraph in the middle a normal size. I’m about to throw something!!!

    Reply

  2. Kristen
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 13:29:30

    Ha! New theme fixed all my problems. Stupid wordpress. Oh well, I always liked this theme anyway!

    Reply

  3. katiebuss
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 14:56:30

    I like this theme too 🙂 It’s like it’s back to normal around here!

    Reply

  4. Kristen
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 16:16:05

    Grr… I can’t upload my pics of the fair. WordPress is being so stupid!

    Reply

    • puttingitinwriting
      Sep 07, 2011 @ 08:49:17

      wordpress is totally being stupid! it won’t update my following list to show me who has blogged since sat. i can’t figure out how to upload more then one pic per blog. i can’t figure out how to show my following list on my blog home page. hmmm…..maybe it’s a shared effort between wordpress and i. but i’m still blaming it on wordpress this morning!

      Reply

  5. puttingitinwriting
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 08:47:34

    great summary of your weekend! you and katie inspire me to do more blogs like this, a window into each person’s world. 🙂 oh, and you know great ladies because YOU are an amazing woman. it goes hand in hand with that great minds saying…..amazing woman attract each other. or something like that! lol. also, thank you (you know what for), love you like crazy!

    Reply

  6. katiebuss
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 09:48:44

    WordPress was having problems yesterday in general, I had the same problems posting photos.. hopefully it’s better today!

    Reply

  7. Kristen
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 10:24:15

    It’s fixed. I uploaded all sorts of pics today from the fair. I have no idea what the problem was yesterday but I had so many problems.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

