I love this…

 I think this goes hand in hand with a quote I have hanging in my cubicle at work

 

The best way to predict your future is to create it ~ Abraham Lincoln

You will always have the life you lead until you choose to change it. You will always have the same issues with loved ones, friends, your self-image etc. until you change your own heart. The beautiful thing about this life is we get to live it as we see fit. If you are unhappy in any way then you have the power to change that. I know this is not always easy to remember. Especially for me. We, as society live such a politically correct life, speak through a filter at all times and do our best not to cause friction with others. The problem with this is we are too busy worrying about other people to actually accomplish our own true happiness. I’m not saying go out and tell everyone how you truly feel about them. I’m simply thinking if we all concentrate on making ourselves happy first then the world might be a happier place altogether. I’m going to concentrate on doing the things that make me happy for the next 30 days. Remind me of this when I start making sacrifices for other people!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katiebuss
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 11:49:11

    I really, really like this idea! For 30 days straight, do what makes YOU happy. If someone says “What do you want to go for dinner” — just say what you’d like! Haha I never do this. It’s always “oh I don’t care, what do you want?” — but I’m bad at making decisions anyway. But I do really like this. It just goes along with being completely honest about everything. It doesn’t mean you have to be rude, but just honest and real. Make a sticky note & put it on your cubical wall that says “30 DAYS” and that will remind you 🙂

    Reply

  2. wifemomfriendme
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 11:52:52

    I’m so opposite of you lol. I’m not happy unless I’m doing something for someone else. I cannot even count how many times Brett and I have argued about that. I’ll have plans for something I want and someone will need something and I’ll cancel my plans. He cannot comprehend that doing that would make me even happier. Although if I have the money I’d go to the spa once a month and not let a single soul interupt it lol! You should do this and keep a journal or blog about it. Like what you did each specific day to please yourself. It’d be a great reference to look back upon!

    Reply

  3. Kristen
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 11:58:19

    That doesn’t make us opposites although I agree we are. But, you do what makes you happy by helping others. That is still doing what makes you happy. If you have plans and someone needs your help and it makes you happier to do that then you aren’t making any sacrifices. You are still doing what makes you happier. If I had the money I would go to the spa once a month too. Gosh, that must be nice!

    Reply

  4. wifemomfriendme
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 12:06:33

    I just meant the sacrifices part lol. But we are quite opposite often lol. Let’s get rich and have monthly spa dates!!!

    Reply

  5. katiebuss
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 12:43:20

    I do not like going to the spa. Blech.

    Reply

  6. Kristen
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 12:48:25

    Seriously?! Why? I’ve never really been to a spa. lol But, I think spa and equate it to a pedicure. lol

    Reply

  7. katiebuss
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 13:51:14

    I don’t like people touching me. I only once had a massage and hated it. I most definitely do not like people touching my face. But paying a stranger to touch my body, that was the weirdest thing I’ve ever done. Blech.

    Reply

  8. wifemomfriendme
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 17:20:03

    Omg I love spa’s! I’ve received a few spa treatments as gifts in the past and stranger or not, touch me please! Hahaha!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

