With babies come change…

Not just in the physical sense of your body (although that is a huge change) but in the make-up of who you are as a person. Babies change absolutely everything about a mother’s life. Everything… From what you choose to wear because you don’t want to create the wrong impression or image of your new title mom to how you react to every single situation. Peyton has changed me in so many ways. The biggest in my opinion is my emotional side. I have always been a pretty emotional person but I was also able to turn it off whenever the need arose. Not so much any more. Everything affects me differently now. I can hear a commercial on the radio and it will tug at my heart-strings and make me tear up. I was going to start a book today by Danielle Steel titled: His Bright Light. It’s about her son who committed suicide and it explains how he had bipolar disease and manic depression etc… I started to read her dedication and prologue and quickly realized this isn’t a book I can read. Just hearing another mothers emotional story about how she lost her son was too much for me. When I allow myself to think about all the trials and tribulations Peyton will have to overcome in her life it overwhelms me with fear.  

I got off topic… Anyway, I honestly feel that since having Peyton I have become way more compassionate for other people. I grieve for people I don’t even know, I cry for families who have lost a child, pet, or parent. I tear up or flat-out cry watching Extreme Makeover Home Edition just knowing what a huge difference they are making for that family.

Babies change us. In every sense of the word, in every facet of our lives. They sneak in and change who you are as a person. Peyton has made me a better person and I’m sure I will only continue to grow as a mommy and become even better in the other areas of my life. I can’t wait for my closest friends to experience this with me. To be able to have conversations with them about motherhood, how it has changed them, the dreams we have for our children. I can’t wait to have mommy friends!

When Peyton was first-born I was engulfed with new emotions. Someone asked me what was the most surprising part of motherhood in the early days and my response was I never imagined I could love another person this much. I had no idea that a person could possess such undemanding, unconditional love for another human being. There is no doubt I would lay down my life for her. I’m tearing up just thinking about it… See… Emotional I tell ya! I thought I knew what love was. I thought I had the strongest, best kind of love in my husband. It’s just different. You’ll see.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katiebuss
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 20:04:22

    Haha.. I got all excited, I thought you’d written AGAIN.. I saw this last week! Time for another update, sheesh.. get to it!

    Reply

  2. wifemomfriendme
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 13:32:52

    Umm…..hello?! You do have mommy friends you know (hint hint wink wink lol). Just because my kids are older doesn’t mean I’m not experiencing this on a daily basis too. You aren’t alone, you always have me. We can talk about our dreams for our kids and cry together anytime!

    Reply

  3. Kristen
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 09:17:21

    I know I have you! But, your babies are older now and you are facing puberty not diapers. lol But, I know I can talk to you about my dreams for her. I know the fear probably never goes away and all mommy’s can relate to that.

    Reply

  4. wifemomfriendme
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 15:59:27

    Anything that comes up that frustrates, scares, or overjoys you, I have been there. I’ve experienced all the same trama’s. Just don’t forget me. I was really happy to share motherhood with you. Finally. I want to hear about it all too! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

