FRUSTRATED!!

Ever think about your friendships and wonder what they bring to your life? I try not to because the outcome usually isn’t very pleasing. I remember growing up and having that one best friend that you told everything too. Now granted it was usually held against you later in some petty fight over a boy or something. But, it was great to have that one best friend while they were there. Now days I feel like I have a few good friends but nobody who lives up to the perfect friend. I received an email the other day that I thought summed it up pretty well. Once we reach a certain age we have many “best” friends. Because each one has their place in our lives. Such as; the friend whose shoulder you cry on or the friend you party with, the friend you talk about your husband with etc. You get the point.

I wish it wasn’t too much to ask to have that one friend you could call for anything. One friend who won’t judge you except for when judging is needed. Trust me, occasionally it is needed. We all forget that there are things we do that are ridiculous and we don’t want to be judged for them but a good friend is someone who will put you in your place when you are out of line. I am usually that friend. However, I am finding it increasingly more difficult to keep a good friendship going while staying true to my own values and trying to help those I love. Once you tell a person you don’t like what they are doing or you think they need to take a step back and look at what they are doing they become very defensive and no longer want to listen to your point of view.

When you come to the point you feel you are not getting anything out of a friendship anymore what do you do? Should you keep that person around because you have already forged a good friendship with them, know their secrets, love the occasional good moments etc? Or, do you eventually get fed up with the bullshit and say bon voyage? I think I tend to just distance myself from the person. It’s easier that way then actually having a confrontation about how we no longer fit into each others lives.

Some people are just pathetic. How do you become an adult without learning how to grow up? I know.. I’m harsh. Maybe even a bitch but you know you have felt this same way.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dan Putnam
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 14:36:24

    I learned one very important lesson far too late in life: “A friend is one who has the same enemies as you have.” – Abraham Lincoln. As cut and dry as it is, that pretty much defines a friend to me. Loyalty and integrity are probably the hardest things to find.

    Reply

  2. Kristen
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 15:06:06

    That is pretty cut and dry. Two very important characteristics. So, we should just learn to live with all other faults if these two apply? Not being sarcastic. I mean really? It makes sense. If you have these two things in a friend they are your friend till the end regardless of there other issues.

    Reply

  3. katiebuss
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 13:26:29

    I think, in general.. if you’re unhappy being friends with someone, maybe you shouldn’t be friends with them. Your friends should make you happy; you should like your friends. It’s up to you what you’ll overlook or accept.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

